batter interference
1:24
7 жыл бұрын
obstruction between bases
1:00
7 жыл бұрын
Lineup Management
32:40
7 жыл бұрын
catcher obstruction
0:28
7 жыл бұрын
Пікірлер
@KenEDuke-y9p
@KenEDuke-y9p 9 ай бұрын
Live ball, in my judgement the batter did not actively hinder the catcher. Batter has all rights to be in the batters box unless a play is being made at the plate . She did not hinder (move) to cause the throw to hit her. No intention needed. If runners were on base they are allowed to advance. I do not believe 7-6U Exception applies here as that batter did not interfere with the throw. The batter did nothing wrong in this example.
@tom1966mac
@tom1966mac 10 ай бұрын
Not a dead ball
@agetori7743
@agetori7743 Жыл бұрын
She is likely forward and out of the batters box (tough to tell with the terrible state of the field and lack of lines) so it's an easy interference call
@dcracing
@dcracing Жыл бұрын
This is the correct call all day long. I wish I had video of an umpire calling 2 consecutive batters out this same same play. The first one the batter stepped out of the box and the catcher never threw the ball as no one was covering third. The second batter called out stayed in the box and the catcher also never threw the ball. The first out I could see. The second not so much.
@Skinny_yellow_lines
@Skinny_yellow_lines Жыл бұрын
Ball is dead if hits batter in box on return throw meaning runner cannot advance from 3rd. Is batter out as well if it’s unintentional?
@MH-Tesla
@MH-Tesla Жыл бұрын
I'm not calling this interference.
@GoombaHere
@GoombaHere Жыл бұрын
Obstruction all the way
@nickeason
@nickeason 2 жыл бұрын
Easiest call ever.
@chesterthompson6835
@chesterthompson6835 2 жыл бұрын
Just teach your catcher to make contact with the batter anytime they stand up no more stolen bases.
@coasterjunkies
@coasterjunkies 3 жыл бұрын
Interference all day long
@poptart221986
@poptart221986 3 жыл бұрын
yes but not intentional
@edalovrich
@edalovrich 3 жыл бұрын
I know this is an old post and things might have changed, but at the approx 21:30 mark, top5th when you ask about re-entering #19, shouldn't that be disallowed until the bottom of the inning when the team goes back on defense? Is this a projected substitution? Perhaps this is allowed in USA and is code specific. Possible issue is, before #19 physically re-enters the game on defense, she gets sick or injured temporarily, now what do you do? She will have burned her re-entry never actually having re-entered the game
@asablue4816
@asablue4816 2 жыл бұрын
I know old post but this is not what is met by a projected sub. Coach can do this. If player where to get sick or injured before going into the game too bad. That is on the coach. A projected sub would be if a coach was to tell you that Susie is now going to bat for Jane and at the same time he tells you Jane is going back in to play defense after the inning is over. Jane going back in would be a projected sub. When a substitute is given to you a player MUST come out of the lineup. In the above case when he tells you Jane is going back in Susie does not come out of the line up until after she bats. I hope this explains this well enough.
@MaydayAggro
@MaydayAggro 3 жыл бұрын
If we don't "allow" teams to make illegal substitutions, why are there rules to govern situations where they happen?
@asablue4816
@asablue4816 2 жыл бұрын
A team can make a substitution an not tell the umpire. If the substitution was noticed and found to be an illegal substitution then you have penalties to followl
@ButchRahman
@ButchRahman 4 жыл бұрын
Batter falls forward and out of the box. Catcher then adjusts to where the batter is standing at throw time (out of the box) and begins her throw to 3rd. Batter then moves BACK into the box and directly into the throw. EASY CALL - INTERFERENCE.
@umpireva5440
@umpireva5440 4 жыл бұрын
Batter interference,. Next !!!
@pork123100
@pork123100 5 жыл бұрын
Batter out runners bag to bases
@floridaorbust5038
@floridaorbust5038 5 жыл бұрын
Batter is out.
@ronaldmead7643
@ronaldmead7643 5 жыл бұрын
The batter was trying to get out of the way. She even pulled her arms in to try and get out of the way. No interference
@NSUMDFS
@NSUMDFS 5 жыл бұрын
The best thing a batter can do is be still. Make the catcher work around her. Weather it's intentional or not, interference is interference.
@alanhess9306
@alanhess9306 5 жыл бұрын
Ronald Mead, Intent is not a factor. This is text book batter interference.
@garygemmell3488
@garygemmell3488 3 жыл бұрын
You must be a coach or a parent.
@MH-Tesla
@MH-Tesla Жыл бұрын
@@alanhess9306 I'm not getting interference on this one. I know we normally agree on most things, but if I umpired this in real time, I highly doubt I call interference. Looking at the video, I understand why some will say it's interference, but I got nothing here.
@alanhess9306
@alanhess9306 Жыл бұрын
@@MH-Tesla I would agree with you if she stayed in the box. Why would you not have interference?
@jimcerda362
@jimcerda362 5 жыл бұрын
I myself emphasize where the dp is batting inbatting order
@timleehenderson
@timleehenderson 5 жыл бұрын
4:42... If #20 hasn't entered the game, why can't she courtesy run?
@jakeblock6768
@jakeblock6768 5 жыл бұрын
#7 isn't catcher on lineup card
@jamesmurphy8735
@jamesmurphy8735 6 жыл бұрын
just wondering if this is correct you have the dp /flex as your starting nine players ?
@dirtymonk5385
@dirtymonk5385 6 жыл бұрын
This is interference.
@philliprunge
@philliprunge 6 жыл бұрын
This video was created by Jim Burrows and he owns the copyright. Do you have permission to use this video?
@GoombaHere
@GoombaHere Жыл бұрын
Whoop whoop that’s the sound of the police
@archdawg4
@archdawg4 6 жыл бұрын
Correct, Except, obstruction is a delayed dead ball call.
@robertbock8298
@robertbock8298 7 жыл бұрын
Batter attempted contact with the ball. Strike. Notice now that the catcher stepped on home plate and then towards third base stepping directly into the batter and the batters box. The catcher initiated the contact by stepping into the batters box forcing the batter out. I see no batter-interference here. Catcher had a clear line to step backwards and throw to retire runner. Understand the rule, batter must interfere with the play, however the catcher cannot step into the batter to initiate contact to draw the interference call. You could make the case that the batter stepped across home plate to strike at the ball, however the play went to third, (not second), so when the catcher contacted the batter, the batter attempted to avoid interference. It might be a hard sell to the coach but I have no interference here.
@alanhess9306
@alanhess9306 6 жыл бұрын
I disagree. The batter came out of the box and was directly in front of the plate as the catcher moved forward. Then the catcher moved to the left as the batter also moved left, blocking the catcher's throw. That is clearly batter interference.
@MaydayAggro
@MaydayAggro 6 жыл бұрын
Alan Hess By rule it is not. If the interference happens when the batter is in the box, it must be obviously intentional. That the catcher double clutched is not enough to call interference. Play on.
@alanhess9306
@alanhess9306 6 жыл бұрын
Eric, I disagree. The batter was not in the box when the throw hit her. I am a baseball umpire and would definitely have interference in a baseball game on this play. Are softball rules different? The batter's place is in the box and we know she can't disappear so she should stay in the box and the catcher has to throw around her. Once the batter moved out of the box, she is responsible for not interfering with the catcher making a play. But this is going to up to umpire's judgement.
@MaydayAggro
@MaydayAggro 6 жыл бұрын
Because the plate is not clean and there are no lines, it is hard to tell if the batter is in the box when the throw hits her. (That's another reason I'd play on here. You must be absolutely certain, not guessing, she was out of the box.) If she's in the box, it's a live ball. It doesn't matter if she stepped out. If she gets back in the box before she gets hit, she's fine unless you judge that she did it to cause interference. The softball rules do not differentiate if she stays in the box the entire time or if she steps out and then back in. In softball, if she has any part of both feet on any part of the batter's box line (or one of them in the air), she is considered in the box (with the exception of NCAA).
@alanhess9306
@alanhess9306 6 жыл бұрын
Eric, I think you could call interference when the catcher moved forward and the batter's momentum took her out in front of the plate before the throw. The batter then moves to her left. Let's agree that if the batter had stayed in the box, there would be no interference.