Pretty sure the deathtouch kills both creatures if he assigns the combat damage correctly. I think he said order all 4 damage on angel
@SeruKgoeszomg Жыл бұрын
I think he just said “angel first”, so to me I would 100% assume he still meant to assign lethal damage to both. I guess you have to be very specific when you’re playing a tournament
@Tech875O Жыл бұрын
Assigning combat dmg shouldn't matter, as a deathtouch creature only needs to deal 1 dmg for it to be lethal. Therefore, both the Angel and the Stomper should have died.
@milesstevenson1858 Жыл бұрын
I think what happened is that Anthony forgot that Sheoldred has Deathtouch, and as such assigned damage to the Angel; since it is a legal play that you can choose to OVERASSIGN damage to a creature in combat, since Anthony did not indicate any damage on the topiary stomper, it is not a GRV for the Topiary Stomper to be alive, which is presumably what Reid wanted to enquire about (to make sure he wasn't doing anything wrong)
@andrewp6738 Жыл бұрын
right, this is definitely a misplay by anthony but not a rules violation or shady conduct by either player
@SeruKgoeszomg Жыл бұрын
@@Tech875O So I think what’s going on is unless you state otherwise all damage will be applied in order starting with the first creature. Shelly deals 4 to a 4 toughness angel so the second creature doesn’t take any damage and survives. He didn’t need to assign it this way, but again since he didn’t state otherwise it’s kind of just the default
@Laggerslam11 ай бұрын
i stopped to follow mtg championships for a few years. can anyone explain the setup and structure of the playlist for me? Is the draft connected to the standard games in any way?
@treestand11 ай бұрын
Pro Tour structure is usually 16 rounds + a cut to top 8 over 2 days. Each day has 3 rounds of draft followed by 5 rounds of another format (Standard, Pioneer, or Modern). The best 8 records after 2 days make it to a single elimination top 8.
@Laggerslam11 ай бұрын
@@treestand thanks for clearing that up, i was not aware of draft being a fixed element of the other formats.
@ultragash367311 ай бұрын
What notes are they taking?
@fatolaf11 ай бұрын
Contents of their hands after duress etc
@Tech875O Жыл бұрын
I could have sworn that deathtouch creatures only have to deal enough dmg to a creature to be lethal, which of course is just 1 dmg. In that case, both the Archangel and the Stomper should have died from blocking the Sheoldred.
@milesstevenson1858 Жыл бұрын
see my below comment, but it is legal that the stomper can survive, so it's not a judge call
@codyprice7066 Жыл бұрын
death touch only counts for any damage if it does 0 damage it wont kill with the DT the angel has 4 toughness shelly does 4 damage and does 0 to the other creature
@Tech875O Жыл бұрын
@@codyprice7066 Deathtouch doesn't work that way. A creature with deathtouch only needs to deal 1dmg to a creature in order for it to be lethal.
@charlesjohn3635 Жыл бұрын
Yeah, couldve assigned 2 and 2 damage from sheoldred to kill both. Deathtouch only needs to deal 1 damage to kill, and you can assign damage however you want, so he couldve gotten both. Wouldnt really have mattered in the end though.
@nathanjones86676 ай бұрын
Idk why but I get the impression that Eli is unfun to play against.