So amazingly well explained. I knew the basics of all of these metrics prior to watching this but by watching it those basics seem to have so much more clarity now. Amazing amazing way of simplifying and explaining everything Eric. God bless!
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Glad to hear it Shakir, good luck 💪💪💪
@keyspanmusic3 жыл бұрын
Thanks Eric for keeping us learning and Excelling! Great stuff as always 🙌
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Thanks for checking it out Keyspan! Love your DJ sets on your channel as well, I listen to them while I'm financial modeling sometimes 😎😎
@oussamaoussama63643 жыл бұрын
Your videos are amazing, keep the good stuff.
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Cheers i really appreciate the comment 🙏
@saarrun3 жыл бұрын
Every metric clearly explained. To the point. Awesome video!
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
My pleasure Arun, glad you thought so! Cheers
@BakaLuVenYan Жыл бұрын
How about Operations KPI or Metrics for E-commerce? Do you have suggestions for monitoring specifically what VC might look into?
@eric_andrews Жыл бұрын
Yep, here is another video I made on the top KPIs for ecommerce kzbin.info/www/bejne/l3vdg4Cle7mXn7Msi=HNiEBt1qdXeCLjtH
@jonathanedward50622 жыл бұрын
Prepping for a VC interview. This is super helpful. Thank you!
@eric_andrews2 жыл бұрын
You're going to crush it! Dropping another VC related video tomorrow fyi hope it helps
@ccaazzoorr2 жыл бұрын
Do venture analysts to to analyse past results of a startup or for the business plans of next years ?
@abbywilliams86973 жыл бұрын
Thanks for the amazing content, can you make a video on creating marketing dashboards? That would be really useful!
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Actually yes. I'll put that on my list, I do that for lots of startups so I can for sure share that process! Thanks for the idea!
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Any metrics I didn't cover which you think are important? Please share them below 👇👇 !!
@ruthcdsilva3 жыл бұрын
Contribution margin
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
@@ruthcdsilva that's a good one too! If i made the video again I would include....cheers 😎
@1966rama2 жыл бұрын
For LTV , what duration of time typically is considered? IS it five years or three years or beyond that ?
@eric_andrews2 жыл бұрын
@@1966rama You'd want to include the full lifetime if you have historical data. But if you're starting out (meaning you are making an estimate) you want to be relatively conservative. SaaS businesses can potentially have multi-year customer lifetimes but ecommerce businesses often don't. Anyway, the payback period (to breakeven) on the LTV is probably the most important part. Many SaaS businesses are happy with a 1-2 year payback period (if they are on annual contracts) as then they are profitable on that year 2+ period, but many ecommerce businesses need to breakeven on the first order because customers don't return very much. So the payback profile is the most important part, and it totally depends on the product / sector.
@motivational_mojo2 жыл бұрын
do you know how to calculate: ... if a client wanted to scale their MRR from $50k a month to $75K per month and their currently paying $1,000 per booked call, how many more appointments do they need to book per month to reach that goal assuming the spend increased to $1,200 per booked call.
@thetanuagrawal2 жыл бұрын
Thanks for this, very well explained.
@elenatertyshnyk65713 жыл бұрын
Eric, thank you for useful metrics. Could you please precise in calculation of CAC, why we number of new customer divided by advertising spend, and not vice versa?
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Hi Elena, happy to help. I made a video 100% focused on the CAC calculation here, this will answer all your questions for sure! kzbin.info/www/bejne/boimmaCHqrmYhJI Quick explanation - we are trying to figure out average marketing spend per NEW customer. So if we spend $500 and we got 10 new customers, then it would be $500 / 10 = $50. But I suggest you check out my other video get get a deeper understanding. Cheers.
@kacperjurasz51423 жыл бұрын
Great video! Shouldn't you divide advertising spend / total customers instead of total customers / advertising spend at 22:16 ? Thanks!
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Yes, I hadn't noticed that typo, but you get the idea. Thanks for letting me know!
@eric_andrews Жыл бұрын
Questions? Let me know in the comments happy to discuss. 🚀 Also, if you want to learn which finance frameworks the top 1% of founders use to scale their startups to massive outcomes, check out my free webinar ⇒ www.ericandrewsstartups.com/financeforstartups
@kingsfordgokah62403 жыл бұрын
Great Stuff Eric
@FlutterPythoncombo2 жыл бұрын
I learnt a lot here . Love to buy coffee 4 u bro
@savitaicesoonthornsaratoon5533 жыл бұрын
This video is really useful . Thanks 😊
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Awesome, happy to hear it!
@omaryassersharkawy59022 жыл бұрын
Hi Eric, When calculating Average revenue per user for example do you use the total operating revenue (Includes GMV) or do you use the normal revenue (commissions)?
@AIDACM9713 жыл бұрын
Another Excellent Presentation
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
My pleasure Peter! Thanks for checking it out and glad it was valuable for you.
@rome2292 жыл бұрын
Wish we could easily track paid CAC on our mobile app. With so many media channels we're using it gets difficult to track.
@jninlove3 жыл бұрын
I really appreciate your informative video.
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Glad it was helpful Grace, cheers! More to come
@gilpali3 жыл бұрын
Thank you brother
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
you are very welcome Gil!
@samefishingaustralia8 ай бұрын
another very well explained video
@eric_andrews8 ай бұрын
Cheers! You're on a roll
@talebbagazi14353 жыл бұрын
May you do an example to cover these matrices, sort of a module for an early stage business? i have watched Saas, market place module but to link those matrices would be something great
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Thank you for the idea Taleb, I will put it on my list and try to think about a good video for it! Also glad you found my saas and marketplace financial models helpful, cheers!
@talebbagazi14353 жыл бұрын
@@eric_andrews i try to learns as much as I can from your videos because it’s very very knowledgeable as I did apply it for pervious work😁
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
@@talebbagazi1435 I'm really glad to hear that! :)
@kel78v26 ай бұрын
What are your thoughts on CAC specific to b2b e-commerce? How would you calculate it?
@eric_andrews6 ай бұрын
B2B meaning retail/wholesale?
@kel78v26 ай бұрын
Yes, wholesale. Can we also say coupons are part of advertising costs?
@eric_andrews6 ай бұрын
@kel78v2 Would you consider anything in there to be a CAC? Maybe the comp/commissions of sales team? Anything else? I would more be focusing on contribution margins per unit and sell through rate.
@saikatbasu64802 жыл бұрын
Is CMGR a metric that is only applicable to business with a recurring revenue model? or can this be beneficial to business with non-recurring rev as well?
@eric_andrews2 жыл бұрын
Can definitely be applied to all businesses. Just gives you a better idea of growth over a longer period, might even be more useful for non-subscription businesses as their revenue tends to be lumpier
@kaym77043 жыл бұрын
Great stuff. Thanks for sharing.
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Hey Kay M - appreciate that feedback, hope it was valuable! Cheers
@rs.shreyaarora98842 жыл бұрын
hi, sir where can we find out these matrices? on the official website of a unicorn or startup, in financial statements, or in any database?
@eric_andrews2 жыл бұрын
Generally, someone needs to take the database data and create these reports based on the initial customer purchase date and subsequent buying behavior (often a data scientist). If you worked at a startup, they should be creating these reports internally to track retention, but it is very unlikely that any company would publically report these numbers on their website (maybe during an IPO). These are more of an operational report that the marketing team would create.
@rs.shreyaarora98842 жыл бұрын
@@eric_andrews thank you sir, one more question. where can i find the data regarding the valuation methods used in valuation of startup unicorns.
@Matt.Collins3 жыл бұрын
Eric, excited to watch this, did you mention a place to download this ?
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Yep! There's a link to download in the "resources & links" sections of the description. Thanks for asking Matt
@parshavjain34973 жыл бұрын
Video at 8.24, while calculating CMGR - month shall be 10 or 9?
@PriyamvadaGoel3 жыл бұрын
I hope you don't mind me answering this. It will be 9. Here's why. Let's assume revenues in the months from January to October to be: R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, R8, R9 and R10. Say the CMGR is r%. Then, R2 = R1 (1+r%) R3 = R2 (1+r%) R4 = R3 (1+r%) R5 = R4 (1+r%) R6 = R5 (1+r%) R7 = R6 (1+r%) R8 = R7 (1+r%) R9 = R8 (1+r%) R10 = R9 (1+r%) If you multiply all the 9 equations above, you will be left with, > R10 = R1 (1+r%)^9 > (R10/R1) = (1+r%)^9 > (R10/R1)^(1/9) = 1 + r% > r% = [(R10/R1)^(1/9)] - 1 And so by generalisation, CMGR (or r%) = [{Revenue in the nth month/Revenue in the 1st month}^{1/(n-1)}] - 1 Hope this helps.
@lakjax3 жыл бұрын
thanks Eric this was really helpful. Although 1 doubt do we take only advertising cost in CAC coz there a few videos which gives the same formula for CPA and as per my knowledge they are both different right? Some of them include marketing cost + sales exepense + salaries basically everything in CAC... could you help me out with that
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Hi Ashkay, great question, there is no rule for 100% of situations. This is how we calculate it for B2B ecommerce businesses. What you include in CPA depends on which specific expenses touch your customers in the sales process. With B2C companies, it is just advertising. We never include salaries of marketing people (for instance a social media manager would not be included). Sales people however, would be included, but B2C companies usually don't have sales teams. However with B2B companies, there is usually an actual sales team that spends all day contacting customers and selling to them directly - we would include them and their bonuses in CAC, as well as advertising spend. I'm actually releasing a video on CAC for B2B companies hopefully tomorrow, so that should be helpful for you. Cheers
@LennyYT6 ай бұрын
How do you track and separate organic from paid results successfully?😊
@eric_andrews6 ай бұрын
It is much harder than it used to be, nobody has a perfect answer. As one of my marketer friends says "if I had a perfect attribution model I'd be a billionaire", haha. Depends on the channel. Good test is to pause paid campaigns and see what happens. Also a lot of attribution software like Elevar (for FB) that can help. Need to compare all your analytics and try to get as close to attribution as possible.
@quentinacbl3 жыл бұрын
Hi ! Great job very detailed and well explained ! I just have one question, these are usually for SaaS types of startups right ? Regarding ARR/MRR, what should be the recurring revenues for a startups that sells manufactured goods ? Therefore having volatile sales (in my case I'm looking at one that is at very early stage, just forecasts are available). Many thanks in advance, keep up the good work !!
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Hey! So, recurring revenue is obviously a big part of subscription businesses, but it is usually a big part of most businesses. For instance, Amazon's retail revenue is probably almost 100% recurring purchases, etc. But yes there are specific businesses that have mostly revenue from first time buyers. In that case I would just call it annual revenue, and of course those businesses get lower valuations because their customers are not very sticky, but they can still make a lot of $$. Cheers!
@LennyYT6 ай бұрын
Awesome 🎉 you'd us this knowledge the same today or has things changed?
@eric_andrews6 ай бұрын
Yep these are the classic metrics, I'd still use them. Only thing is that since all the privacy tracking has been rolled out the paid vs. blended CAC is a bit harder to differentiate. But CAC is still key to understand.
@karenkhoo70923 жыл бұрын
thanks so much. :)
@ilariaapriledicimia96963 жыл бұрын
Super thank you!
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Glad it helped Ilaria!
@sonerguney3225 Жыл бұрын
Very good
@eric_andrews Жыл бұрын
You're very welcome!
@darrenwalgate74113 жыл бұрын
Thankyou
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
My pleasure Darren!
@dmill19893 жыл бұрын
Muy Bueno!
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Gracias Donny!!
@RankaNikunj3 жыл бұрын
Giveaway results?
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
Announcing today! Putting the video live shortly....😎
@RankaNikunj3 жыл бұрын
@@eric_andrews 👍👍
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
@@RankaNikunj Nikunj - did you check the video? You WON the 2 courses! And I also sent an email to your gmail account as well. Talk soon.
@RankaNikunj3 жыл бұрын
@@eric_andrews 😀yes sir i have checked. But sir i have not received your email
@eric_andrews3 жыл бұрын
@@RankaNikunj weird, I already sent it. Could you try sending me an email then? To ericandrewsbusinessinfo@gmail.com
@johnnydrama4560 Жыл бұрын
Slurping the mouth again and again. Why? Seriously, it is soo distracting. I could stand 7 min and thats it.