Thank you for reposting this video. Was very helpful and interesting. Sounds like an interesting rule set to play.
@MichaelScerri1473 ай бұрын
You’re welcome it sure is. 😊
@MikeBilliardsFun783 ай бұрын
Nice Video few rule i now know more about , i been watching Japanese video play Black Ball and enjoy it
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
Thanks for watching
@kitkats13132 ай бұрын
Nice one. I prefer to distinguish between an illegal break (what you’re showing here) and a foul break (legal, but a foul eg white goes down). Simply because these rules can do your head in slightly on the break and choosing colors.
@5wisher5weet2 ай бұрын
Seems like the guys in my town are more into blackball than international. I gotta learn the rules. One of the guys down here is a good player, Justin.
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
🔥🔥🎱
@awolf9134 күн бұрын
1. When the cue ball is potted on the break the very next shot the opponent is given 1 free shot and 1 visit. Is the first shot being a free shot count to determine colours? Or would it be the second shot? 2. When there is a foul break and the opponent wishes to rerack instead of play where the cueball is or in baulk, does the original break break or does the opponent break? If the opponent breaks do they get 1 free shot and one visit on the break? 3. What happens if you are down to the 8 ball and all the colours have gone down whilst being a free table? Are you allowed in that rare scenario to pot the remaining black or is it a stalemate?
@MichaelScerri1474 күн бұрын
No.1. Yes the first shot can determine the colours. No.2. The opponent breaks and I’m pretty sure your first shot on the break will be your 1 free shot. I could be wrong though I can’t remember just now 🥴 3. I would say you just pot the black like normal and win.
@Fezzmunda2 ай бұрын
just to add cause i dont think i heard it, you can't close the table on a free shot ie. after a foul break you take the cherry to be on that colour using your free hit, it won't count.
@DavidGreening3 ай бұрын
I must be old school. I still think world rules had the best blend of tactics and skill. I also think it's hilarious how those claiming to be the best version of the rules are using inferior equipment with plastic pockets.
@DarkSpiritParanormalКүн бұрын
Right so in a normal shot u either have too pot a ball or the object ball has too hit a cushion or does it count if the white hits a cushion
@MichaelScerri14723 сағат бұрын
Yes it counts if the white ball hits too 👌🏼
@marksmith22983 ай бұрын
Nice vid. Thanks. Maybe should have mentioned something about the frozen ball. 👍
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
That rule as far as I know hasn’t changed.
@jeremyliddiard37152 ай бұрын
@@MichaelScerri147 it has changed slightly. Basically, even if an object ball IS touching a cushion/rail, it isn't frozen unless the referee or opponent says so before the shot. See rule 4q - drive.google.com/file/d/1XGQxtQ3EgWf4hdU6QWNe3M7NGp2ZDPvi/view?pli=1
@ZakoMthiya3 ай бұрын
Thanks Michael. We play with these rules where I play, nice to see them covered here. Two questions I have. 1 - on the break, if it is a foul break, do you get ball in hand? Like with the other fouls you covered. 2 - If an object ball jumps out the table, does it go back to the black ball 'spot' on the table? Or does that get dropped in a pocket and a foul is declared?
@MichaelScerri1473 ай бұрын
On a foul break you can play it from where it lies and have your free shot and continue or you can have Ball in hand behind the bulk line have your free shot then continue. If a ball goes off the table, I’m pretty sure it’s replaced back on the black dot. Thanks for watching 💪
@ZakoMthiya3 ай бұрын
@@MichaelScerri147 Ah yes, thank you Sir. Love from RSA
@MichaelScerri1473 ай бұрын
@ you’re welcome ❤️
@jeremyliddiard37153 ай бұрын
@@MichaelScerri147 yes, if an object ball leaves the table it's replaced on the black spot. In the unusual event that more than one object ball leaves the table, there's a specified order about which ball goes on the black spot and which goes just below it. drive.google.com/file/d/1XGQxtQ3EgWf4hdU6QWNe3M7NGp2ZDPvi/view?pli=1
@nakkadu2 ай бұрын
One interesting rule you missed that lots of people dont know. If you pot the black off the break, it's a re-rack with the same player breaking off even if they foul. You can launch the white off the table but if the black goes in it's your break again.
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
Thanks for that but like I said at the start I’m not going to cover everything just a few for this video. Thanks though I’ll probably do another one and add all these to it thank you.
@ThibautChotard-fe3ih2 ай бұрын
I have a few questions about the rules : 1. If my opponents plays a foul, I have 2 visits. On my free shot, do I have to hit a cushion with any ball after the contact with the cue ball ? 2. If I don't touch any ball with the cue ball during my free shot, is it a foul ? 3. If I put the cue ball into a pocket during my free shot, is it a foul ? 4. When the table is open, I decide to hit a yellow with the cue ball and this yellow ball hits a red ball which goes into a pocket. Do I got the red balls or the table is still open ?
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
Hi mate 1- yes you still have to hit a rail on your free shot. 2- good question I have never thought of that haha but I would assume yes it would be. 3- yes it’s a foul 4- yes if you hit yellow onto red and pot red then you are reds. I’m pretty sure that’s right 🙂
@normangroom94542 ай бұрын
I like both black ball and international rules. But my playing preference is for IPA black ball ( where you have to get three points on the break). For me, black ball is closer to what i call pub rules. In the uk if I want to watch international rules i now have to pay a subscription to watch on my phone ( and then cast to the tv) to watch monday night leaque ultimate pool i have to subscribe to TNT or Paramount plus, but I can watch IPA black ball on KZbin for free and, if i felt so inclined, then I could turn up at the venue and there's no entrance fee at all. I only have one friend who will play black ball rules. Everyone else says its too complicated, and they stick to pub rules. I'm still trying to learn the skill shots. One final thing a game of pool at the Austin Club is only 50p a game, whatever rules you play by
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
Yeah I wish there was only one rule set but unfortunately there isn’t. I guess on the positive side the game of 8 ball is healthy all around the world. 💪
@colinpadley1897Ай бұрын
Love these rules except for skill shot on the black, if you play the black into a ball over the pocket, and the black doesn't go in bur its now over the pocket, and then say your opponent has three balls on the cushion, the foul could actually give you an advantage, which should never happen, I'd like that rule changed, if you go for the skill shot on the black and it's not successful, then loss of frame, stop people taking advantage or abusing the rules by doing a delibrate foul.
@RAGHAVENDRAVARMAVVSАй бұрын
I have a question what if you make foul on your free shot do you still have your visit turn? Or is it cancelled and your opponent gets a free shot and a visit?
@MichaelScerri147Ай бұрын
Yeah, as far as I know mate, you still Can’t foul even if it’s on your free shot.
@PeterLee-yb9ek28 күн бұрын
Playing again after 10 years out for one reason . International rules
@MichaelScerri14728 күн бұрын
Yeah i like them better
@billfrater19482 ай бұрын
Missing pretty important issues. I pot a Ball from the break, Am I on that colour or do I have a choice. Just the black ball left, A fail on the black, Do you get 2 Shoots?
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
You have to pot a colour after the break to be on them. As far as I know If you are on the black you get your free shot then your main shot.
@khanyisanimngadi89552 ай бұрын
So Michael what happens then when an opponent fouls on the break and I decide to re-rack but also foul by only getting one ball to pass through the centre? Do I continue or my opponent plays foul?
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
As far as I know, unfortunately it doesn’t exempt you from committing a foul so yes two balls must cross the line
@andrewdugdale70432 күн бұрын
A bit confusing. I prefer world rules
@DaneliusUK2 ай бұрын
Welcome to my World. 🙃
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
🥴
@jamiedalrymple36893 ай бұрын
If you pot yellow and red you said it's still a free table......so whatever I pot next I'm on is that right
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
Yes correct 👍
@Vince_Paul3 ай бұрын
What happens if the black or white goes down on the break? Or if the white leaves the table?
@jeremyliddiard37153 ай бұрын
If the black ball goes down it's a "void break" and the same player breaks again. If it's a legal break, but the white goes down, it's an ordinary foul and an open table, the opposing player gets one free shot followed by one visit.
@Vince_Paul3 ай бұрын
@ thanks for answering, so is that an open table with the white anywhere on the table or like international rules only behind the line?
@jeremyliddiard37152 ай бұрын
@@Vince_Paul at the player's choice, the white can be played from where it is or they can ask to play it from behind the line (strictly speaking, only their opponent or the referee is allowed to move the ball). So, not anywhere on the table. However, because the first shot is a free shot, they have the opportunity to play the white off any oball
@jeremyliddiard37152 ай бұрын
... off any object ball to position it where they desire before playing their second shot.
@somerandomguywastaken2 ай бұрын
What happens if you pot the white on your free shot after opponent fouls?
@somerandomguywastaken2 ай бұрын
And basically other fouls like no cushion after contact etc
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
If you pot the white on your free shot then you unfortunately foul
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
Same it’s just a foul on your end
@somerandomguywastaken2 ай бұрын
@@MichaelScerri147 so it's basically an open table but also includes being able to hit black?
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
@ yeah on a free shot you can basically do anything other than pot the black.
@Fezzmunda2 ай бұрын
just needs to be 1 ball potted off break (not 2) or 2 past the imaginary line.
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
If one ball goes in then you only need one to cross the line
@Fezzmunda2 ай бұрын
@@MichaelScerri147 it's one or the other just like world rules
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
@@Fezzmunda international rules you need 3 ball to cross the line but if you sink a ball then only two need to cross and if you sink 2 the only one needs to cross. I would assume it’s the same for black ball rules
@Fezzmunda2 ай бұрын
@@MichaelScerri147 yes but I was referring to blackball is the same as world rules where it's one or the other, not a combination of both like ir
@MichaelScerri1472 ай бұрын
@ in world rules if two balls go in the pocket then only two more need to hit a rail not 4, so it’s the same. 👍
@ginocensi14743 ай бұрын
Good rules set mate i like it, it's world rules on STEROIDS
@MichaelScerri1473 ай бұрын
Haha
@capricornone18612 ай бұрын
Ok? Then just pick up the black ball on fowl break and drop it down the pocket with your hand………dumb rules
@michaelasare313015 күн бұрын
You didn't talk about how frozen balls are dealt with.
@MichaelScerri14715 күн бұрын
Yeah, there are a few rules I didn’t talk about. I just went over a few of them to start off with.
@redsidebiker3 ай бұрын
Nonsense rules. The 1980's rules were the best, when it was one set of rules for 8 ball. 2 shots carry, any pocket on the 8. Cue ball potted, play fron the D, no free table. Simple and fun. Not this rubbish